You can not select more than 25 topics Topics must start with a letter or number, can include dashes ('-') and can be up to 35 characters long.

README.md 3.5KB

123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627282930313233343536373839404142434445464748495051525354555657585960616263646566676869707172737475767778798081
  1. Bitcoin Core 0.13.99
  2. =====================
  3. Setup
  4. ---------------------
  5. Bitcoin Core is the original Bitcoin client and it builds the backbone of the network. However, it downloads and stores the entire history of Bitcoin transactions (which is currently several GBs); depending on the speed of your computer and network connection, the synchronization process can take anywhere from a few hours to a day or more.
  6. To download Bitcoin Core, visit [bitcoincore.org](https://bitcoincore.org/en/releases/).
  7. Running
  8. ---------------------
  9. The following are some helpful notes on how to run Bitcoin on your native platform.
  10. ### Unix
  11. Unpack the files into a directory and run:
  12. - `bin/bitcoin-qt` (GUI) or
  13. - `bin/bitcoind` (headless)
  14. ### Windows
  15. Unpack the files into a directory, and then run bitcoin-qt.exe.
  16. ### OS X
  17. Drag Bitcoin-Core to your applications folder, and then run Bitcoin-Core.
  18. ### Need Help?
  19. * See the documentation at the [Bitcoin Wiki](https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Main_Page)
  20. for help and more information.
  21. * Ask for help on [#bitcoin](http://webchat.freenode.net?channels=bitcoin) on Freenode. If you don't have an IRC client use [webchat here](http://webchat.freenode.net?channels=bitcoin).
  22. * Ask for help on the [BitcoinTalk](https://bitcointalk.org/) forums, in the [Technical Support board](https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=4.0).
  23. Building
  24. ---------------------
  25. The following are developer notes on how to build Bitcoin on your native platform. They are not complete guides, but include notes on the necessary libraries, compile flags, etc.
  26. - [OS X Build Notes](build-osx.md)
  27. - [Unix Build Notes](build-unix.md)
  28. - [Windows Build Notes](build-windows.md)
  29. - [OpenBSD Build Notes](build-openbsd.md)
  30. - [Gitian Building Guide](gitian-building.md)
  31. Development
  32. ---------------------
  33. The Bitcoin repo's [root README](/README.md) contains relevant information on the development process and automated testing.
  34. - [Developer Notes](developer-notes.md)
  35. - [Release Notes](release-notes.md)
  36. - [Release Process](release-process.md)
  37. - [Source Code Documentation (External Link)](https://dev.visucore.com/bitcoin/doxygen/)
  38. - [Translation Process](translation_process.md)
  39. - [Translation Strings Policy](translation_strings_policy.md)
  40. - [Unit Tests](unit-tests.md)
  41. - [Travis CI](travis-ci.md)
  42. - [Unauthenticated REST Interface](REST-interface.md)
  43. - [Shared Libraries](shared-libraries.md)
  44. - [BIPS](bips.md)
  45. - [Dnsseed Policy](dnsseed-policy.md)
  46. - [Benchmarking](benchmarking.md)
  47. ### Resources
  48. * Discuss on the [BitcoinTalk](https://bitcointalk.org/) forums, in the [Development & Technical Discussion board](https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=6.0).
  49. * Discuss project-specific development on #bitcoin-core-dev on Freenode. If you don't have an IRC client use [webchat here](http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=bitcoin-core-dev).
  50. * Discuss general Bitcoin development on #bitcoin-dev on Freenode. If you don't have an IRC client use [webchat here](http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=bitcoin-dev).
  51. ### Miscellaneous
  52. - [Assets Attribution](assets-attribution.md)
  53. - [Files](files.md)
  54. - [Reduce Traffic](reduce-traffic.md)
  55. - [Tor Support](tor.md)
  56. - [Init Scripts (systemd/upstart/openrc)](init.md)
  57. - [ZMQ](zmq.md)
  58. License
  59. ---------------------
  60. Distributed under the [MIT software license](/COPYING).
  61. This product includes software developed by the OpenSSL Project for use in the [OpenSSL Toolkit](https://www.openssl.org/). This product includes
  62. cryptographic software written by Eric Young ([eay@cryptsoft.com](mailto:eay@cryptsoft.com)), and UPnP software written by Thomas Bernard.